Skip to main content
Normal View

Dáil Éireann debate -
Wednesday, 23 Jun 1993

Vol. 432 No. 7

Adjournment Debate Matters.

I wish to advise the House of the following matters in respect of which notice has been given under Standing Order 20 and the name of the Member in each case: (1) Deputy Crawford — when the next tenant purchase scheme will be offered to local authorities; (2) Deputy Sheehan — the need to progress Caheragh group water scheme, County Cork; (3) Deputy Brendan Smith — the inconvenience caused to two elderly ladies (details supplied) in County Cavan which resulted in these people being denied access to their home on Friday evening and Saturday morning, 11 and 12 June 1993, as a result of the British Army placing a barrier on the culde-sac road leading to their home on the Cavan/Fermanagh border; (4) Deputy Theresa Ahearn — the cessation of numerous social employment schemes as a result of the failure to provide sufficient funding; (5) Deputy Connaughton — the lack of progress on the Clontuskert group water scheme, Ballinasloe, County Galway, where over 200 families are waiting several years for a proper water supply; (6) Deputy Deenihan — the threatened closure by Kerry County Council of Ballinagher bridge, County Kerry, resulting in major inconvenience to 30 families in the Lixnaw/Ballyduff areas and to tourists who use this route during the summer; (7) Deputy Jim O'Keeffe — the need to include in the terms of reference of the Telephone Users Advisory Group a provision to enable it to investigate and report on the discrimination that exists in that Dublin city, county and adjacent areas are all being classified as one local call area whereas Cork city and county are not similarly classified; (8) Deputy Jim Higgins — the curtailment of numbers being admitted to universities for the higher diploma in education to 750 with the result that hundreds of graduates who undertook degree courses for teaching purposes are being denied the necessary training for same; (9) Deputy Creed — the failure of the Minister for Health and of all health boards to maintain pay parity for clinical psychologists in the health service with their counterparts employed in the Departments of Education and Justice, as agreed by the Labour Court; (10) Deputy Gallagher (Laoighis-Offaly)— the urgent need to sanction the group water scheme for Tinnycross, Tullamore, County Offaly, given the serious pollution of the local groundwater which is causing distress to residents of the local area; (11) Deputy Molloy — whether the Minister for Health has received a proposal from the Burren View Parents' Committee, County Galway, regarding resources for a centre for six to 12 year old children with severe physical and mental handicap and the steps he intends to take in the matter; (12) Deputy Byrne — the severe losses to tillage crops in County Wexford as a result of recent heavy rains; (13) Deputies O'Malley and Clohessy — the need for the Minister for Education to take immediate action to ensure that 160 pupils in Limerick city who have been refused places in local secondary schools for next September will be provided with places as soon as possible to end the concern and distress caused to the pupils and their parents given that the only other option for these families is that their children stay on in primary school; (14) Deputy Browne (Carlow-Kilkenny)— whether, in view of the flooding of Carlow town for the second time in three years, funds will be made available to compensate people for damage caused or to prevent a recurrence of such damage; (15) Deputy Boylan — the proposed sale of 40 acres at Bally-haise Agricultural College, County Cavan; (16) Deputy Flaherty — the need for action to be taken to prevent the closure of Beize Textiles at Finglas, Dublin 11, with a potential loss of 70 jobs; (17) An Teachta Éamon Ó Cuív — cathain a cheadófar an deontas don obair fheabhsúcháin agus leathnúcháin ar Scoil Shailearna, Contae na Gaillimhe.

The Ceann Comhairle has selected for discussion the matters raised by Deputies (1) Smith; (2) Ahearn; (3) Flaherty; and (4) Deputies O'Malley and Peadar Clohessy jointly.