Written Answers. - National Salmon Commission.

Brian O'Shea


136 Mr. O'Shea asked the Minister for the Marine and Natural Resources the proposals he has to give representation to the Suir and Blackwater Estuary fishermen on the National Salmon Commission; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [7466/01]

Section 55A of the Fisheries Act, 1980, inserted by section 22 of the Fisheries (Amendment) Act, 1999, provides that the National Salmon Commission shall consist of a chairperson, not more than 16 members appointed on the nomination of prescribed bodies and not more than four other members. The commission is representative of all the interests in salmon including commercial fishermen, anglers and public sector organisations. The current membership of the commission includes five members representing commercial salmon fishing interests who have been nominated by the Irish Fishermen's Organisation, the Barrow-Nore-Suir Snap Net Fishermen's Alliance and the Traditional Net Inshore Fishermen's Association. I have no plans to alter the balance of representation on the commission.