Topical Issue Matters

I wish to advise the House of the following matters in respect of which notice has been given under Standing Order 27A and the name of the Member in each case: (1) Deputy Sean Fleming - the need for the third implementation report of the Croke Park agreement, showing the savings in public sector pay and non-pay areas in the period up to 31 December 2013, to be published; (2) Deputy Anthony Lawlor - the need to ensure that the €35 million ring-fenced for recruiting staff to mental health and suicide prevention services will be used in full in 2013; (3) Deputy Pearse Doherty - the need to reclassify Down's syndrome as a low-incidence disability in order that children who have Down's syndrome can get teaching and learning resources appropriate to their needs; (4) Deputy Jonathan O'Brien - the findings of the reports entitled Early School-Leavers - What's Next? and School Completers - What's Next?; (5) Deputy Dan Neville - the bypass for Adare, County Limerick; (6) Deputy John O'Mahony - the plans in place for the further roll-out of the Student Universal Support Ireland grants for the coming academic year; (7) Deputy Brian Stanley - the up-to-date position in relation to the 53 designated SAC bogs in terms of co-location, compensatory habitats, relocation and compensation for turf cutters; (8) Deputy Tom Hayes - the provision of high-speed broadband to South Tipperary; (9) Deputy Aengus Ó Snodaigh - the need to remove the cap on admitting students to Ballyfermot College of Further Education and reverse the changes to the teacher-pupil ratio; (10) Deputy Maureen O'Sullivan - the Dublin City Council report that 90% of private apartments inspected in the Dublin area are not fit for habitation; (11) Deputy Denis Naughten - the need to secure protections against excessive financial speculation in the food and other commodity derivative markets through the review of the markets in financial instruments directive; (12) Deputy Thomas Pringle - the need for Letterkenny IT to maintain a campus in Killybegs; (13) Deputy Mattie McGrath - the need to implement the first phase of the national asthma programme; (14) Deputy Clare Daly - the roll-back on the commitment to give GP cards to all those with long-term illness; (15) Deputy Billy Kelleher - waiting lists for outpatient appointments; (16) Deputy Robert Troy - delays in assessing the needs of children with suspected disabilities; (17) Deputy Seán Ó Fearghaíl - the provision of an honour guard by Óglaigh na hÉireann at the Mass for the annual Arbour Hill 1916 commemoration; (18) Deputy Michael McNamara - whether the regulation of small food businesses represents a barrier to growth and employment; (19) Deputy Aodhán Ó Ríordáin - the need to compile accurate data on the educational outcomes of children in care, as advocated by the Ombudsman for Children; (20) Deputy Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin - the introduction of free GP care to those on the long-term illness scheme and the plan to extend free GP care to the general population; (21) Deputy Mick Wallace - the decision not to introduce free GP care for people with long-term illnesses; (22) Deputy Dessie Ellis - the effects of the cut in the house adaptation grant; (23) Deputy Richard Boyd Barrett - the European Court of Justice ruling on pension protection for Waterford Crystal workers; and (24) Deputy Eamonn Maloney - the new planning regulator.

The matters raised by Deputies Aodhán Ó Ríordáin, Tom Hayes, Dan Neville and Thomas Pringle have been selected for discussion.