Topical Issue Matters

I wish to advise the House of the following matters in respect of which notice has been given under Standing Order 29A and the name of the Member in each case: (1) Deputy John Curran - the provision of additional home care packages to facilitate the discharge of patients in Tallaght Hospital in Dublin 24 who have been deemed medically fit for discharge; (2) Deputies Martin Kenny, Martin Ferris, Micheál Martin and Thomas Pringle - the lack of formal approval by the Marine Survey Office for the National Maritime College of Ireland course in sea survival, boat handling and firefighting skills; (3) Deputy Barry Cowen - concerns that Bord na Móna's plans to outsource services and impose unilateral pay cuts on existing workers are putting jobs at risk in its transport rail division; (4) Deputy Louise O'Reilly - the implementation of the national neuro-rehabilitation strategy; (5) Deputies Niamh Smyth, James Browne, Jackie Cahill, Sean Fleming, Seamus Healy, Mattie McGrath, Anne Rabbitte and Brendan Smith - the future of accident and emergency departments throughout Ireland, given reports concerning service cuts to trauma centres; (6) Deputy John Lahart - the need to prioritise the needs of clients of the suicide charity Console with due regard to the protection of individual client confidentiality; (7) Deputy Eoin Ó Broin - the imminent closure of the Boot Road dental clinic in Clondalkin, Dublin 22, and the provision of funding to ensure the service remains open; (8) Deputy Alan Farrell - the need to refocus the Government's efforts to cut child care costs to support families; (9) Deputy Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin - the transfer of commercial and business property water charges accounts from local authorities to Irish Water; (10) Deputies John Brassil and Aindrias Moynihan - the urgent allocation of appropriate funding to Transport Infrastructure Ireland to allow the Macroom bypass to be built sooner than 2021; (11) Deputy David Cullinane - the availability of insulin pump therapy services to patients with type 1 diabetes, the number of vacant endocrinologist posts, the average waiting time to see an endocrinologist or diabetes consultant and the number of cardiac patients who are also diabetics at Waterford University Hospital; (12) Deputy Margaret Murphy O'Mahony - the taking in charge by the HSE of three residential centres for people with autism spectrum disorders; (13) Deputy Pat Deering - the need for a top-up contribution to County Carlow from the equalisation fund; (14) Deputy John Brady - funding for critical fire protection works at Oldcourt Estate, Bray, County Wicklow; (15) Deputy Brian Stanley - the new rent supplement limits; (16) Deputies Imelda Munster and Peter Fitzpatrick - the fact that 51 families are not receiving respite services at St. Mary's in Drumcar, County Louth, which is run by the St. John of God services; (17) Deputy Michael McGrath - the CSO finding that Ireland's GDP grew by 26.3% in 2015; (18) Deputies Clare Daly and Mick Wallace - the Chilcot report in Britain and the implications for Ireland in relation to the use of Shannon Airport in County Clare by the US military; (19) Deputy Dessie Ellis - the progress of discussions with Greyhound on the change of price plan and on allowing customers to stay on the current plan, following the pay-by-weight issues and the agreement reached by the Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government with the waste management companies; (20) Deputy Sean Sherlock - the provision of the necessary resources following a fire at the Patrician Academy in Mallow, County Cork; (21) Deputy Richard Boyd Barrett - the ESRI report on the quality of life issues facing young adults; (22) Deputy Mick Barry - the release by the CSO on 12 July last of GDP growth figures of 26%; (23) Deputy Paul Murphy - the release of files by the OPW regarding the assembly of a site for offices for the Department of Social Protection and the Revenue Commissioners; and (24) Deputy Pearse Doherty - the review of gynaecology and antenatal services at Dungloe Community Hospital in County Donegal.

The matters raised by Deputies Martin Kenny, Martin Ferris, Micheál Martin and Thomas Pringle; Deputy John Lahart; and Deputy Sean Sherlock have been selected for discussion.