Ábhair Shaincheisteanna Tráthúla - Topical Issue Matters

I wish to advise the House of the following matters in respect of which notice has been given under Standing Order 37 and the name of the Member in each case: (1) Deputies Aodhán Ó Ríordáin and Jennifer Murnane O'Connor - to discuss suspending the requirement of special needs assistants to complete 72 hours of non-contact work; (2) Deputy Kathleen Funchion - to discuss Project Carlow 2040: A Vision for Regeneration; (3) Deputies Pat Buckley and Thomas Gould - to discuss the operation of South Doc services in Fermoy-Michelstown and Blackpool; (4) Deputies Thomas Pringle and Johnny Guirke - to discuss the bog slide in Meenbog, County Donegal caused by wind farm development; (5) Deputy Niamh Smyth - to discuss the concerns regarding direct provision centres in Monaghan; (6) Deputy Martin Kenny - to discuss the selection of Supreme Court judges; (7) Deputy Marian Harkin - to discuss the relocation of sittings of Sligo High Court; (8) Deputy Mattie McGrath - to discuss the need to review levels of on-campus activity in third level institutions and levels of fees and accommodation charges for students; (9) Deputy Michael McNamara - to discuss the extension of the defective concrete block scheme to County Clare; (10) Deputy Christopher O'Sullivan - to discuss the lack of secondary school places in Bandon, County Cork; (11) Deputy Brian Stanley - to discuss the suspension of the school vaccine programme in the midlands; (12) Deputy Darren O'Rourke - to discuss the urgent need to improve the customer service provided by telecommunications and utility companies; (13) Deputy Carol Nolan - to discuss the provision of permanent accommodation at Gaelscoil na Laochra, Birr, County Offaly; (14) Deputy Martin Browne - to discuss timely assessments for treatment at the National Rehabilitation Hospital in Dún Laoghaire; (15) Deputy Maurice Quinlivan - to discuss delays with construction of the Coonagh-Knockalisheen Road; (16) Deputy James O'Connor - to review the progress of school development in the east Cork region in light of ongoing school capacity issues; (17) Deputy Jackie Cahill - to discuss the need to develop alternative markets for Irish dairy products in light of Brexit; (18) Deputy Jim O'Callaghan - to discuss permitting teenagers and young people to play competitive sporting fixtures if level 3 restrictions are imposed; (19) Deputy Michael Creed - to discuss approval to proceed with design, planning, land acquisition and construction of the N22 from Macroom to Ballincollig; (20) Deputy Holly Cairns - to discuss the response to the repeated flooding of Bantry, County Cork with the Minister of State with responsibility for the Office of Public Works; (21) Deputy Richard Boyd Barrett - to discuss the taskforce report on the future of arts, music and live entertainment; (22) Deputy David Stanton - to discuss the provision of emergency financial assistance to zoos, wildlife parks and aquariums given their exceptional financial difficulties due to Covid-19 restrictions; (23) Deputy Paul Donnelly - to discuss the longer than projected timeframe for the building of new schools with identified sites; and (24) Deputy Emer Higgins - to discuss the development of a more effective Covid-19 advertising strategy.

The matters raised by Deputies Aodhán Ó Ríordáin and Jennifer Murnane O'Connor, Michael Creed, Brian Stanley and Jackie Cahill have been selected for discussion.

Sitting suspended at 1.55 pm and resumed at 2.55 p.m.