Skip to main content
Normal View

Dáil Éireann debate -
Thursday, 8 Jul 2021

Vol. 1010 No. 3

Business of Dáil: Motion

I move:

That, notwithstanding the Order of Business of Tuesday, No. 9a, motion regarding the Finance (Local Property Tax) (Amendment) Bill 2021, shall be taken now and that any division demanded thereon shall be taken immediately.

Is that proposal agreed?

It is not agreed.

It is not agreed. It was proposed yesterday-----

I cannot hear you, Deputy. We are not having a debate on it, but it is not agreed.

On a point of order, can we not discuss the proposal for at least a minute? He is attempting to ram this through.

There was no request for a waiver at the Business Committee either. We were discussing this in the finance committee yesterday and there was no agreement on it. Now it is just being railroaded through. That is absolutely unacceptable.

On a point of order, a Cheann Comhairle, for the Minister to come to the House on a Thursday, just before the close of business, to attempt to ram this through with no discussion whatsoever-----

Excuse me, Deputy Murphy.

This will have an impact of €500 for hundreds of thousands of homes.

Please resume your seat, Deputy Murphy.

A Cheann Comhairle, we need to debate it at least.

Please resume your seat. I am not taking a contribution from Deputy Mattie McGrath either. This matter was before the Business Committee this morning and nobody objected.

A Cheann Comhairle, I have to protest.

Resume your seat, please.

That is an inaccurate record of what happened, a Cheann Comhairle. Please let me protest about that.

Protest away. Let me rephrase it. I, personally, have no recollection of anybody objecting to it at the Business Committee.

I have to put the question.

The process was not followed properly.

Resume your seat, Deputy.

No, a Cheann Comhairle. You made a statement that was wrong. It is just wrong.

Resume your seat.

The process was not followed. You are bringing the Business Committee into disrepute.

Please do not be disorderly.

You are bringing our committee into disrepute. I want to be clear about that. The process was not followed.

Deputy, you are bringing the House into disrepute.

The process was not followed.

Resume your seat. If you have respect for the House, you will resume your seat.

I am asking for a point of clarification.

The Chair is on its feet and the Member will resume his seat.

You have made a statement that brings the Business Committee into disrepute. I am asking for a point of clarification.

Resume your seat, please.

A point of clarification.

No. Resume your seat. The question has been put.

Was a waiver requested of the Business Committee?

Deputy, do not force me to suspend the sitting.

Was a waiver requested of our committee?

Deputy, do not force me to suspend. The question has been put.

Question put:
The Dáil divided: Tá, 68; Níl, 44; Staon, 0.

  • Berry, Cathal.
  • Browne, James.
  • Bruton, Richard.
  • Burke, Colm.
  • Burke, Peter.
  • Butler, Mary.
  • Cahill, Jackie.
  • Calleary, Dara.
  • Carey, Joe.
  • Chambers, Jack.
  • Collins, Niall.
  • Costello, Patrick.
  • Creed, Michael.
  • Crowe, Cathal.
  • Devlin, Cormac.
  • Donnelly, Stephen.
  • Donohoe, Paschal.
  • Duffy, Francis Noel.
  • Durkan, Bernard J.
  • English, Damien.
  • Farrell, Alan.
  • Feighan, Frankie.
  • Flaherty, Joe.
  • Flanagan, Charles.
  • Fleming, Sean.
  • Foley, Norma.
  • Grealish, Noel.
  • Griffin, Brendan.
  • Haughey, Seán.
  • Heydon, Martin.
  • Hourigan, Neasa.
  • Humphreys, Heather.
  • Kehoe, Paul.
  • Lahart, John.
  • Lawless, James.
  • Leddin, Brian.
  • Madigan, Josepha.
  • Martin, Catherine.
  • Matthews, Steven.
  • McAuliffe, Paul.
  • McConalogue, Charlie.
  • McGrath, Michael.
  • McHugh, Joe.
  • Moynihan, Aindrias.
  • Moynihan, Michael.
  • Murnane O'Connor, Jennifer.
  • Murphy, Verona.
  • Naughton, Hildegarde.
  • Noonan, Malcolm.
  • O'Brien, Darragh.
  • O'Brien, Joe.
  • O'Callaghan, Jim.
  • O'Connor, James.
  • O'Dea, Willie.
  • O'Donnell, Kieran.
  • O'Donovan, Patrick.
  • O'Dowd, Fergus.
  • O'Gorman, Roderic.
  • O'Sullivan, Christopher.
  • O'Sullivan, Pádraig.
  • Ó Cathasaigh, Marc.
  • Ó Cuív, Éamon.
  • Phelan, John Paul.
  • Rabbitte, Anne.
  • Richmond, Neale.
  • Ring, Michael.
  • Shanahan, Matt.
  • Smith, Brendan.


  • Boyd Barrett, Richard.
  • Brady, John.
  • Browne, Martin.
  • Buckley, Pat.
  • Clarke, Sorca.
  • Conway-Walsh, Rose.
  • Cronin, Réada.
  • Crowe, Seán.
  • Cullinane, David.
  • Daly, Pa.
  • Donnelly, Paul.
  • Ellis, Dessie.
  • Farrell, Mairéad.
  • Fitzmaurice, Michael.
  • Funchion, Kathleen.
  • Gannon, Gary.
  • Guirke, Johnny.
  • Harkin, Marian.
  • Kelly, Alan.
  • Kenny, Gino.
  • Kenny, Martin.
  • Kerrane, Claire.
  • Mac Lochlainn, Pádraig.
  • McGrath, Mattie.
  • Mitchell, Denise.
  • Munster, Imelda.
  • Murphy, Catherine.
  • Murphy, Paul.
  • Mythen, Johnny.
  • Nash, Ged.
  • O'Callaghan, Cian.
  • O'Rourke, Darren.
  • Ó Broin, Eoin.
  • Ó Laoghaire, Donnchadh.
  • Ó Murchú, Ruairí.
  • Quinlivan, Maurice.
  • Ryan, Patricia.
  • Shortall, Róisín.
  • Smith, Bríd.
  • Stanley, Brian.
  • Tully, Pauline.
  • Ward, Mark.
  • Whitmore, Jennifer.
  • Wynne, Violet-Anne.


Tellers: Tá, Deputies Brendan Griffin and Jack Chambers; Níl, Deputies Mattie McGrath and Pádraig Mac Lochlainn.
Deputy Holly Cairns did not vote in this division due to an agreed pairing arrangement with Minister Helen McEntee for the duration of the Minister’s maternity leave.
Question declared carried.