Election of Vice Chairman

I propose that we commence with the nomination and appointment of a Vice Chairman of the joint committee. Members will recall that at our previous meeting we sought nominations for the position. As of the close of business on Friday, we received one nomination, that of Deputy Cowen. He was nominated by Deputy Lawless. Is that agreed? It is agreed on the basis that I have received no other nominations.

Was Senator Gerard P. Craughwell interested? How do we nominate a Vice Chairman? What is the procedure for that?

We said that nominations would be sought by close of business on Friday last. I am in the hands of the committee if we want to take nominations from the floor.

What is this for?

It is to elect a Vice Chairman.

I nominated Deputy Cowen.

I received the nomination from Deputy Lawless for the candidacy of Deputy Cowen.

If he wants to nominate me, I accept the nomination. Let it proceed.

This is something we raised earlier at the Seanad Committee of Selection, namely, that joint committees should have a representative from both Houses. The Chair will always be a Dáil Member. Parity of esteem comes into play for the two Houses.

I am minded-----

That was just my electioneering.

I know. We have to abide by the rules of the committee. In that regard, there is the position of a Vice Chair. I have received one nomination and an indication from Deputy Berry. Are members prepared to accept that as the nomination? If so, I have received more than one nomination and I will deal with the nominations in the order in which I have received them. The question is that Deputy Cowen be elected as Vice Chair of this committee. I think the question is carried. I declare, therefore, that Deputy Cowen is Vice Chair of the committee. I congratulate him and look forward to working with him in the future, as does everybody on the committee.

We will now go into private session. Is that agreed? Agreed.

The joint committee went into private session at 4.35 p.m. and adjourned at 5.01 p.m. until 11.30 a.m. on Thursday, 15 October 2020.