Conference on the Future of Europe: Oireachtas Delegation Members

For the information of the House, the following Oireachtas Members have been selected as representatives of the Houses of the Oireachtas to the Conference on the Future of Europe:

Deputy John Brady,

Senator Alice-Mary Higgins,

Deputy Neale Richmond,

Deputy Niamh Smyth.

The conference is a joint undertaking between the European Parliament, the Council and the European Commission, acting as equal partners with EU member states. It was inaugurated on 9 May and will hold its inaugural plenary meeting on 19 June. I am sure the House will join with me in wishing the delegation well in this important work.

For the benefit of the House, why has no Member of the Upper House been included in that delegation?

Senator Alice-Mary Higgins is a member of the delegation.

Gabh mo leithscéal. Sorry, I did not hear that.