Skip to main content
Normal View

Seanad Éireann debate -
Tuesday, 14 Jun 2022

Vol. 286 No. 2

Address to Seanad Éireann by Members of the Verkhovna Rada, the Ukrainian Parliament: Motion

I move:

"That Seanad Éireann agrees with the recommendation of the Committee on Parliamentary Privileges and Oversight that, in accordance with the provisions for the address to Seanad Éireann by Distinguished Persons, a delegation of members of the Verkhovna Rada, the Ukrainian Parliament, consisting of Ms. Lesia Vasylenko MP, Mr. Rostyslav Tistyk MP, Ms. Alyona Shkrum MP, Mr. Dmytro

Natalukha MP, be invited to address Seanad Éireann on Tuesday, 14th June, 2022, and, notwithstanding anything in Standing Orders, unless otherwise ordered, the following arrangements shall apply:

The proceedings shall commence at 4 p.m., shall not exceed 90 minutes, and shall consist of—

(a) a speech of welcome by the Cathaoirleach;

(b) an opening address by each MP which shall not exceed six minutes in each case;

(c) a contribution not exceeding six minutes by the Leader of each Group (or a Senator nominated in his or her stead); time may be shared;

(d) a response by each MP which shall not exceed three minutes in each case;

(e) a speech of thanks by the Leas-Chathaoirleach;

and the delegation of MPs may take seats on the floor of the Seanad Chamber.”

Question put and agreed to.