The Select Committee met at 2.30 p.m.
Members Present:

Deputy S. Ardagh,

Deputy J. Higgins (Mayo),

Deputy M. Barnes,

Deputy P. McCormack,†

Deputy A. Boylan,*

Deputy J. McGuinness,

Deputy B. Cooper-Flynn,

Deputy J. O’Donoghue (Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform),

Deputy A. Dukes,†

Deputy N. O’Flynn,

Deputy F. Fitzgerald,

Deputy J. O’Sullivan,

Deputy C. Flanagan,

Deputy N. Treacy† (Minister of State at the Department of Education and Science),

Deputy E. Gilmore,*

Deputy G. V. Wright.

Deputy M. Hanafin,

*In the absence of Deputies T. Ahearn, L. McManus and P. Upton respectively.
†In the absence of Deputies J. Higgins (Mayo), C. Flanagan and J. O’Donoghue respectively for part of meeting.
DEPUTY E. RYAN in the chair.

I welcome the Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform and his officials. He must leave at 12 o'clock and will return for part of the afternoon session. The Minister of State at the Department of Education and Science will be present between 12 o'clock and 1 o'clock and then we will take a break. The afternoon session will conclude at 5 o'clock unless we finish earlier given that there are 105 amendments to be discussed. Is that agreed?

We wish to conclude at 4 o'clock because of prior commitments and reconvene tomorrow if necessary.

Is 4 o'clock agreed? Agreed.