The Select Committee met at 11 a.m.
Members Present:

Deputy S. Ardagh,

Deputy L. McManus,

Deputy M. Barnes,

Deputy J. O’Donoghue (Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform),

Deputy P. Bradford,†

Deputy N. O’Flynn,

Deputy F. Fitzgerald,

Deputy J. O’Sullivan,†

Deputy C. Flanagan,

Deputy S. Power,*

Deputy M. Hanafin,

Deputy P. Upton,

Deputy J. Higgins (Mayo),

Deputy M. Wallace† (Minister of State at the Department of Justice, Equality and Law Reform),

Deputy J. McGuinness,

Deputy G. V. Wright.

*In the absence of Deputy B. Cooper-Flynn.
†In the absence of Deputies Flanagan, Upton and O'Donoghue, respectively, for part of meeting.
DEPUTY E. RYAN in the chair.

I welcome Mr. Tom Malone, the new Clerk to the Committee. I wish him well in his new position and hope he enjoys his stay with us. I also welcome the Minister and his officials.