Skip to main content
Normal View

Residential Tenancies Board.

Dáil Éireann Debate, Tuesday - 2 November 2004

Tuesday, 2 November 2004

Questions (428)

Fergus O'Dowd


500 Mr. O’Dowd asked the Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government the progress which has been made since the passing of the Residential Tenancies Act 2004; and when he will appoint board members of the residential tenancies board. [26898/04]

View answer

Written answers (Question to Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government)

Considerable progress has been made in implementing the Residential Tenancies Act 2004. A significant portion of the Act was brought into operation on 1 September, including the provisions relating to security of tenure, establishment of the private residential tenancies board and registration of tenancies with the board. A range of implementation action is proceeding in my Department and the board, including tenancy registration, provision of information and guidance, measures to promote awareness of the new provisions particularly the obligation to register with the board and preparatory work for the commencement of the board's dispute resolution service in December.

The members of the board have been formally appointed and are as follows:

Mr. Tom Dunne (Chairperson)

Mr. James Bridgeman

Ms Anne Colley

Ms Aideen Hayden

Ms Mary Heaslip

Ms Sheila McMahon

Mr. Fintan McNamara

Ms Marjorie Murphy

Mr. Conn Murray

Mr. Liam O'Donnell

Dr. Eoin O'Sullivan

Ms Dervla Quinn

Dr. Bairbre Redmond

Mr. Pat Riney

Mr. Tony Taaffe.