Wednesday, 25 January 2012

Questions (86)

Simon Harris


81 Deputy Simon Harris asked the Minister for Education and Skills if he will list the members of the new schools establishment group; the way they were appointed; their expert qualifications; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [4276/12]

View answer

Written answers (Question to Minister for Education and Skills)

Last year I put in place revised procedures and criteria for the establishment of new schools. I also announced as part of the new procedures that an independent review body, the New Schools Establishment Group, would report to me on the proposed patronage arrangements for the new schools following a detailed analysis by my Department of the applications from prospective patrons. Full details of the new procedures and arrangements regarding new schools are available on my Department's website.

The New Schools Establishment Group is chaired by Dr. Séamus McGuinness who is retired senior lecturer in the Education Department at Trinity College Dublin. The Group also includes Ms. Sylda Langford who is retired Director of the Office of the Minister for Children and also Professor Seán Ó Riain of the Sociology Department of NUI Maynooth.