Tuesday, 17 July 2012

Questions (599)

Charlie McConalogue


613 Deputy Charlie McConalogue asked the Minister for Justice and Equality if he will outline the total number of appointments to State boards since March 2011 under the aegis of his Department; the total number of appointments that have been advertised on his Department’s website; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [35610/12]

View answer

Written answers (Question to Minister for Justice and Equality)

I wish to inform the Deputy that details of appointments made to State boards within my Department's remit since March 2011 are set out below:

1. Children Detention Schools Board of Management

Member Mr. Dan Kelleher was appointed on 20 September 2011.

2. Courts Service Board


Mr. Shane Browne

Mr. Pat Doyle

Ms Deirdre O'Keeffe

The above were appointed on 5 December 2011.

3. Equality Authority I have re-appointed the following members of the outgoing Board of the Equality Authority until the end of July 2012.

Chairperson Dr. Angela Kerins

Vice-chairperson Mr. Christy Lynch

Ordinary Members

Ms Rhona Murphy

Ms Salome Mbugua

Ms Ellen Mongan

Ms Betty O'Leary

Mr. Peter White

Mr. Séan Fogarty

Mr. Kieran Rose

Mr. Nigel Brander

Ms Lynn Jackson

Mr. Paddy Maguinness

All of the above were re-appointed on 7 March 2012.

In addition the following were also re-appointed on 13 April 2012: Annette Dolan David Joyce

As already announced, I intend to move very shortly to initiate the process of selection of members of the new Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission.

Once the persons for appointment to the Commission have been identified, the intention is to arrange for their appointment to both existing bodies (the Human Rights Commission and the Equality Authority) in the interim. This will ensure that the two organisations can start to operate as a cohesive whole, with a transition programme being prepared and put in place, so that the two boards operating as one unit can commence preparing a Strategic Plan for the new body and that work can be taken forward rapidly on the staffing review and other preparatory work envisaged in the Working Group report.

4. Judicial Appointments Advisory Board

Ordinary Members

Dr. Simon Boucher

Ms Karen Dent

Dr. Valerie Bresnihan

All of the above were appointed with effect from 7 June 2011.

5. Legal Aid Board

Chairperson Ms Muriel Walls

Ordinary Members

Ms Oonagh Buckley

Ms Mary Dalton

Ms Kate Hayes

Ms Joy McGlynn

Ms Oonagh Mc Phillips

Mr. Mícheál O'Connell

Mr. Donncha O'Connell

Mr. John O'Gorman

Mr. Philip O'Leary

Ms Michelle O'Neill

Mr. Ger Power

Mr. Rob Reid

All of the above were appointed on 14 December 2011.

Mr. David Garvey was appointed on 18 January 2012.

6. Mental Health (Criminal Law) Review Board

Chairperson Judge Brian McCracken was re-appointed as Chairperson with effect from 27 September 2011.

Ordinary Members

Ms Nora McGarry

Dr. Michael Mulcahy

Both of the above were appointed with effect from 27 September 2011.

7. Parole Board

Chairperson Mr. John Costello was appointed with effect from 26 July 2011.

Ordinary Member Ms Ciairín de Buis was appointed with effect from 26 July 2011.

8. Property Registration Authority

Ordinary Members

Mr. Frank Branigan was appointed on 29 April 2011.

Ms Teresa Pilkington was appointed on 27 May 2011.

Ms Deirdre Fox was appointed on 4 August 2011.

9. Property Services Regulatory Authority

Chairperson Ms Geraldine Clarke

Ordinary Members

Ms Carol Boate

Mr. Edward Carey

Mr. Patrick Davitt

Mr. James Doorley

Ms Deirdre Fox

Mr. Martin Hanratty

Ms Josephine Henry

Mr. Paul Mooney

Mr. Myles O'Reilly

Ms Regina Terry

All of the above were appointed on 3 April 2012.

I also wish to inform the Deputy that on 7 December 2011 my Department advertised on its website for expressions of interest from persons who wished to be considered for appointment to the Property Services Regulatory Authority.