Wednesday, 17 July 2013

Questions (106)

Tom Fleming


106. Deputy Tom Fleming asked the Minister for Education and Skills the position regarding the joint upgrading to university technological status in respect of an institution (details supplied); and if the upgrade status will be approved in 2013. [35924/13]

View answer

Written answers (Question to Education)

Three formal expressions of interest were received by the HEA from groups of institutes of technology in applying for designation as technological universities.

The three applications are from:

1. DIT, Institute of Technology Tallaght, Institute of Technology Blanchardstown;

2. Waterford Institute of Technology and Carlow Institute of Technology;

3. Cork Institute of Technology and Institute of Technology, Tralee.

A clear four stage process and criteria for designation were published last year. The three groups of institutes have now passed the first stage and can proceed to the second stage where detailed plans for merger and meeting the robust performance criteria have to be developed. In the third stage, evaluation of these plans by an international expert panel will take place followed by legal mergers and eventual designation for successful applicants.

The timeframe for this will depend on the capacity of the proposed institutions to meet those criteria.