Wednesday, 17 July 2013

Questions (280)

Andrew Doyle


280. Deputy Andrew Doyle asked the Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport the appointments to the board of Aer Lingus as ministerial nominees over the past seven years; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [35808/13]

View answer

Written answers (Question to Transport)

The State's shareholding in Aer Lingus currently stands at just over 25%. At this level the company's Articles of Association make provision for the Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport, acting through the Minister for Finance, to make up to three nominations for appointment to the Board. There are three such directors currently serving on the board; Mr Francis Hackett, Mr Colin Hunt and Mr William Slattery.

The following outlines the appointment of Ministerial nominees since Aer Lingus became a listed company in 2006.

- Mr Francis Hackett who was serving on the Board of Aer Lingus at the time of the IPO was re-designated as a 'Ministerial Nominee' from the IPO date of 2 October 2006. He has been reappointed as a 'Ministerial Nominee' twice since then, in February 2008 and February 2011.

- Mr Chris Wall who was also serving on the Board at the time of the IPO was re-designated as a 'Ministerial Nominee' in January 2008 and served on the Board until the expiration of his term in March 2009.

- Mr Colin Hunt was appointed as a 'Ministerial Nominee' in January 2008 and was re-appointed in January 2011.

- Mr Leslie Buckley was appointed in May 2009 for a three year term, which expired in May 2012.

- Mr William Slattery was appointed in July 2013 for a three year term.