Wednesday, 31 January 2018

Questions (304)

Barry Cowen


304. Deputy Barry Cowen asked the Minister for Housing, Planning and Local Government further to Parliamentary Question No. 656 of 23 January 2018, the legislation that underpins each of the principal response agencies and principal emergency services. [4715/18]

View answer

Written answers (Question to Housing)

Local authorities are designated as Principal Response Agencies under the provision of the Framework for Major Emergency Management which was approved by Government decision in 2006.

Local authorities operate under the provisions of the Local Government Act 2001 and other local government legislation including the Local Government (Reform) Act 2014. This legislation provides, inter alia, for the establishment, titles and administrative areas of local authorities and local authorities carry out their roles and functions in accordance with the provisions contained within the local government legislation.

Under the Fire Services Acts 1981 and 2003 local authorities are designated as fire authorities. Fire services are provided by local authorities in accordance with the provisions of these Acts.

Responsibility for legislation related to the other designated principal response agencies, An Garda Síochána and the Health Service Executive, lies with the Department of Justice and Equality and the Department of Health, respectively.