Wednesday, 13 March 2019

Questions (146)

Ruth Coppinger


146. Deputy Ruth Coppinger asked the Minister for Education and Skills the number of special schools established by his Department; and the year of establishment of each (details supplied). [12581/19]

View answer

Written answers (Question to Education)

There are currently 114 recognised special schools funded by my Department which cater for children and young people with complex special educational needs from the age of 4 years until the end of the school year in which they reach their 18th year. There are also 7 Hospital special schools and 3 special schools in CAMHS Units.

Special schools are established as primary schools under the Education Act and under the Rules for National Schools. While the State provides for free primary education, schools, including special schools are established by patron bodies who define the ethos of the school and appoint the board of management to run the school on a day to day basis.

Of the 124 special schools:

- 55 are under the patronage of the catholic church,

- 26 are under the patronage of organisations funded under Section 38 of the Health Act (Directly Funded);

- 20 are under the patronage of organisations funded under Section 39 of the Health Act (Grant funded)

- 23 are under the patronage of other organisations.

No Special Schools have been established directly by my Department.

Information of the year of establishment is not readily available in my Department.