Wednesday, 8 May 2019

Questions (1586)

Donnchadh Ó Laoghaire


1586. Deputy Donnchadh Ó Laoghaire asked the Minister for Housing, Planning and Local Government if rent pressure zones in Cork are to include the Ballincollig-Carrigaline municipal district as revised; and if the southern end of Carrigaline, including Fountainstown, Myrtleville and Crosshaven, will now fall under the new Carrigaline municipal district and be considered a designated rent pressure zone as a result. [19784/19]

View answer

Written answers (Question to Housing)

The expiry date of all deemed and designated RPZs will be extended to 31 December 2021 under the Residential Tenancies (Amendment) (No.2) Bill 2018. The Bill further provides that any area falling within the new Cork City Council boundary, which is not already within a RPZ, will become one from 31 May 2019.

Areas already designated as RPZs will remain designated and areas that are not designated nor due to become part of Cork City Council will retain their current undesignated status.

New Local Electoral Areas (LEAs) and Municipal Districts were signed into law on 31 January 2019 for Cork City and County (which took into account the expanded Cork City boundary) for the May 2019 local elections. The previous Ballincollig-Carrigaline Local Electoral Area is amended so that Ballincollig and its eastern hinterland will come within the remit of Cork City on 31 May 2019. Ballincollig will become part of the ‘Cork City South West LEA’ and will become a RPZ by virtue of coming within the Cork City boundary.

Carrigaline and its hinterland will be contained within its own LEA and Municipal District, which will become wholly within the remit of Cork County Council on 31 May 2019. The areas of Fountainstwon, Myrtleville and Crosshaven will be contained in the Carrigaline LEA and will come under the remit of Cork County Council and as such will not become RPZs by virture of the change to the boundary.

The Boundary Committee Reports 1 and 2 which recommended these changes show the new LEAs – Report No. 1 contains Cork County and Report No. 2, Cork City. These reports are available at the following link: