Friday, 6 September 2019

Questions (30)

Ruth Coppinger


30. Deputy Ruth Coppinger asked the Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade the countries other than EEA member states and Switzerland in which the passport card is accepted. [35173/19]

View answer

Written answers (Question to Foreign)

The Irish passport card is valid for travel to 31 countries: all EU Member States, the members of the EEA (Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway) and Switzerland.

The Irish passport card is fully compliant with International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) regulations concerning requirements for passports in card format.  Since the passport card was launched in 2015, over 193,000 Passport Cards have been issued.