Tuesday, 17 September 2019

Questions (166)

Aengus Ó Snodaigh


166. Deputy Aengus Ó Snodaigh asked the Minister for Education and Skills the school planning areas which cover the Dublin 6W, 8, 10, 12, 20 and 22 postal districts. [37072/19]

View answer

Written answers (Question to Education)

In order to plan for school provision and analyse the relevant demographic data, my Department divides the country into 314 school planning areas and uses a Geographical Information System, using data from a range of sources, to identify where the pressure for school places across the country will arise. With this information, my Department carries out nationwide demographic exercises to determine where additional school accommodation is needed at primary and post-primary level.

The school planning areas are used in the demographic exercise as a basis for the assessment of areas of growth and to inform recommendations on the establishment of any new schools required in that school planning area. A postal district may comprise (in whole or in part) a number of my Department's school planning areas.

The school planning areas located within (fully or partially) the D6W, 8,10,12,20 and 22 postal districts are as follows:

- Dublin2_Dublin4

- Dublin_6W

- Dublin6_Clonskeagh

- Cabra_Phibsboro_D7

- Dublin_8

- Ballyfermot_D10

- Dolphin's Barn_D12

- Castleknock__D15

- Carpenterstown_D15

- Palmerstown_Ronanstowns_D20_22

- Clondalkin_D22

- Rathfarnham

- Tallaght

- Lucan

- Newcastle_Rathcoole.