Tuesday, 12 November 2019

Questions (454, 456)

Martin Kenny


454. Deputy Martin Kenny asked the Minister for Communications, Climate Action and Environment the number of climate action regions set up here; the counties that are grouped together to make up the regions; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [46424/19]

View answer

David Cullinane


456. Deputy David Cullinane asked the Minister for Communications, Climate Action and Environment the regional climate action offices that have been established to date; the location, staffing levels and funding allocated to each office, in tabular form; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [46494/19]

View answer

Written answers (Question to Communications)

I propose to take Questions Nos. 454 and 456 together.

In January 2018, my Department entered into a five-year financial commitment of €10m to establish four Climate Action Regional Offices (CAROs). Building on a business case prepared by the Local Government sector itself, this commitment recognises the significant obligation which has been placed on Local Government to develop and implement its own climate action measures, as well as the need to build capacity within the sector to engage effectively with climate change – both in terms of mitigation and adaptation.

The establishment of these offices is enabling a more coordinated engagement across the whole of Government and will help to build on the experience and expertise which exists across the sector. The following table sets out the locations of the offices in terms of the lead authorities and the functional areas they work within.

Climate Action Region

Local Authority Functional Areas

Lead Authority

Atlantic Seaboard North

Donegal, Sligo, Mayo and Galway City and County

Mayo County Council

Atlantic Seaboard South

Clare, Limerick, Kerry, Cork County and Cork City

Cork County Council

Dublin Metropolitan Region

South Dublin, Fingal, Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown and Dublin City

Dublin City Council

Eastern and Midlands

Louth, Meath, Wicklow, Wexford, Kildare, Carlow, Kilkenny, Laois, Offaly, Westmeath, Longford, Leitrim, Tipperary, Cavan, Monaghan, Roscommon and Waterford

Kildare County Council

Under the five year financial commitment entered into in 2018, €2 million has been assigned across the four CAROs for 2019. Each regional office has a coordinator in place to coordinate actions across both the CARO structure itself and also with the other Local Authorities in its respective region. The regional coordinators are supported by small dedicated teams within each CARO, the staffing of which is a matter for each individual lead Local Authority to consider within the funding allocated to support the work of these offices. With the publication of the Climate Action Plan in June of this year, a revised work programme for the CAROs for 2020 will now be agreed during Q4 2019.