Tuesday, 24 November 2020

Questions (746)

Alan Kelly


746. Deputy Alan Kelly asked the Minister for Justice if a list of all judicial appointments made in 2020 will be provided in chronological order by the date appointed by Government; the name of the judge in each case; and the court to which he or she was appointed. [38720/20]

View answer

Written answers (Question to Justice)

Judicial appointments are made in accordance with Articles 13.9 and 35.1 of the Constitution, by the President acting on the advice of the Government.

Eleven such appointments have been made by the President in the year to date. The information requested including the date of their appointment is set out underneath.

21/01/2020 – Mr. Colm Roberts appointed to the District Court and Ms. Helen Boyle to the Circuit Court*

18/03/2020 – Mr Justice Donald Binchy appointed to the Court of Appeal*

20/03/2020 – Mr. Paul Burns appointed to the High Court*

18/06/2020 –Ms Justice Mary Irvine appointed as President of the High Court

23/07/2020 – Mr. Seamus Woulfe appointed to the Supreme Court

17/09/2020 – Ms Justice Teresa Pilkington appointed to the Court of Appeal

18/09/2020 – Ms Mary Morrissey appointed to the Circuit Court

08/10/2020 – Ms Nuala Butler appointed to the High Court

02/11/2020 – Mr. Alec Gabbett and Ms. Sandra Murphy appointed to the District Court.

*It should be noted that the judges appointed in the period 1 January to 31 March 2020 were nominated by the Government at its meeting of 17 December 2019.

Question No. 747 answered with Question No. 726.