Thursday, 11 February 2021

Questions (11)

Eoin Ó Broin


11. Deputy Eoin Ó Broin asked the Minister for the Environment, Climate and Communications the hiring process by which he made the recent appointments to the CCAC. [7683/21]

View answer

Written answers (Question to Environment)

Section 8 of the Climate Action and Low Carbon Development Act 2015 established the Climate Change Advisory Council. In view of the statutory five-year term of the Council expiring; the need to facilitate the smooth functioning of the Council, including its intended mandate to propose carbon budgets under the Climate Action and Low Carbon Development (Amendment) Bill; and the need to ensure relevant deadlines relating to the development of carbon budgets as set out in the Bill are met,  I have made the following initial appointments as members of the new Climate Change Advisory Council:

- Ms. Marie Donnelly, Chairperson

- Professor John FitzGerald, Ordinary Member

- Professor Ottmar Edenhofer, Ordinary Member

- Professor Peter Thorne, Ordinary Member

These appointments take into account the statutory requirements of the 2015 Act. I intend to appoint additional members shortly, taking account of the provisions of the Climate Action and Low Carbon Development (Amendment) Bill. Further appointments will include experts in relation to biodiversity, just transition, sustainable transport, and climate communications, amongst other areas of experience.

The existing four ex-officio members of the Council, the Director General of the EPA, the Chief Executive Officer of SEAI, the Director of Teagasc, and the Director of the ESRI, will remain in place on the Council pending the passage of the Bill.