Skip to main content
Normal View

Technological Universities

Dáil Éireann Debate, Thursday - 8 July 2021

Thursday, 8 July 2021

Questions (68)

Colm Burke


68. Deputy Colm Burke asked the Minister for Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science if all of the necessary structures have now been put in place including the appointment of the board of management for the Munster Technological University; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [36703/21]

View answer

Written answers (Question to Further and Higher Education)

The first governing body of the Munster Technological University (MTU) was established on 1 January 2021 with 5 members appointed in accordance with Sections 55 and 56 of the Technological Universities Act 2018. Under section 55(3) of the 2018 Act the relevant procedures were subsequently concluded to expand the governing body to 21 members as of 30 June 2021. In accordance with the provisions of Section 12(1)(i) of the 2018 Act I am currently considering the nomination of an additional external member to the governing body.

My officials have been informed that an interim Academic Council was established by MTU on 1 January 2021 consisting of 9 members in accordance with the provision of Section 16 of the 2018 Act. Following on from extensive consultation that took place prior to the TU's establishment, arrangements were then subsequently put in place to form a larger, more representative Academic Council. The membership of the Academic Council of MTU now stands at 90 members. This larger group had its inaugural meeting on 7 May 2021.

Officials from my Department are currently in discussions with the management of MTU in relation to a number of senior executive level posts that require my consent as Minister under the 2018 Act along with the consent of the Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform.