Skip to main content
Normal View

Departmental Data

Dáil Éireann Debate, Thursday - 15 July 2021

Thursday, 15 July 2021

Questions (485)

Joe Flaherty


485. Deputy Joe Flaherty asked the Minister for Rural and Community Development the number of staff by location and function in each office of her Department nationally by location; if the property is State owned or leased; and the detail of these leases in the case of those properties on a lease in terms of cost, term and next break date. [38849/21]

View answer

Written answers (Question to Rural)

My Department was established in July 2017 and currently occupies office space at two locations - Trinity Point, Dublin 2, and Government Buildings, Ballina, Co. Mayo. The offices occupied in Ballina are in the ownership of the Office of Public Works (OPW), while the lease arrangements in relation to Trinity Point are managed on our behalf by the OPW. In both cases, no costs are directly incurred by my Department.

Both the Dublin and Mayo offices contain staff working for both the Rural and Community Development functions of the department. Both locations also contain staff who work within the Corporate and Strategic Development function of the Department.

My department also has responsibility for the Islands, whereby staff are based in an office in Na Forbatha, Galway whereby the lease or ownership of the office is a matter for the Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media. DRCD also has 7 regional staff who have no fixed location.

The number of staff in each location as of the 12th July 2021 is outlined below:


Number of Staff

Trinity Point, Dublin 2


Government Buildings, Ballina, Co. Mayo


Regional Staff


Islands Staff