Skip to main content
Normal View

The Office of Parliamentary Legal Advisers

The Office of Parliamentary Legal Advisers (OPLA) is the in-house legal team of the Houses of the Oireachtas.

As Parliament's lawyers, we are completely independent of Government, and provide specialist, non-partisan legal advice on a broad range of parliamentary, constitutional and corporate legal issues to Parliament, its Members and its staff.

Our services

Parliamentary legal advice for Members
Private Members' Bills legal advice and drafting services
Areas of law the OPLA advises on
Guides to our services


Guides to our services

These guides will give you more details about our services. Members of the Oireachtas may contact us to avail of our services.

Chief Parliamentary Legal Adviser

Mellissa English

Chief Parliamentary Legal Adviser

The OPLA is headed by the Chief Parliamentary Legal Adviser, Mellissa English BL, Assistant Secretary. As an Assistant Secretary, Mellissa sits as a member of the Management Board of the Houses of the Oireachtas Service.

Mellissa leads a team of 22 lawyers, each of whom is experienced and professionally qualified as a solicitor or barrister in the State, along with legal researchers and administrative support staff.

The OPLA team

Ramona Quinn, Mellissa English, Kieran Mooney and Sinéad O’Brien

The OPLA team

Comprising a total staff of 33, the OPLA team consists of Advisory Counsel, Assistant Parliamentary Counsel, legal researchers and administrative staff. They provide services across four constituent parts, each headed by a Principal Officer:

  • Ramona Quinn, solicitor - Parliamentary Services Legal Adviser
  • Sinéad O’Brien, solicitor - Corporate Legal Adviser
  • Cathy Egan BL - Private Members’ Bills Legal Adviser
  • Kieran Mooney BL - Parliamentary Legislative Drafter

What is the OPLA's remit?

The OPLA and the Chief Parliamentary Legal Adviser’s functions are provided for in the Houses of the Oireachtas Commission Acts 2003 to 2021. An unofficial consolidation of the Houses of the Oireachtas Commission Acts 2003 to 2021 is provided here.

Contact details

The Office of Parliamentary Legal Advisers
Leinster House
Kildare Street
Dublin 2
D02 XR20


(01) 618 3657