The British-Irish Parliamentary Assembly (BIPA) aims to promote co-operation between political representatives in Britain and Ireland for the benefit of the people they represent.

BIPA’s membership includes representatives from the UK Parliament, the Houses of the Oireachtas, the Scottish Parliament, the Northern Ireland Assembly, the Welsh Assembly, the High Court of Tynwald (Isle of Man) and the States of Guernsey and Jersey. The Assembly was established in 1990.

60th plenary

Opening address of the 60th Plenary

Watch the Taoiseach, Micheál Martin, giving the opening address to the 60th BIPA Plenary in the Dáil Chamber on 22 February 2021.

View video

12 politicians in a virtual meeting

Some of the BIPA members, including co-Chair Brendan Smith TD, preparing for the virtual plenary

Recent press releases

22 Feb 2021, 20.15

BIPA’s 60th Plenary concludes in Dublin

19 Feb 2021, 13.29

The British Irish Parliamentary Assembly (BIPA) will convene virtually in Leinster House on Monday 22 February, for its 60th Plenary.

31 Oct 2019, 11.54

British Irish Parliamentary Assembly Committee B calls for European Security Cooperation after Brexit

British-Irish Parliamentary Assembly members

59th British-Irish Parliamentary Assembly, Warwickshire October 2019

Find out more

For more information, see the website of the British-Irish Parliamentary Assembly.

Contact details


Paul Stephens
+353 (0) 1 618 3218

Press liaison officer

Jason Kiernan

+353 (0) 1 618 4486

+353 (0) 86 701 5235