The International Congress of Parliamentary Women's Caucuses took place on 9-10 September 2018 in Dublin Castle, Ireland.

The conference brought together parliamentarians from across the globe to discuss issues facing women and how parliamentarians can work to address them. Parliamentarians came from more than 40 countries, including Argentina, Malawi, Mongolia, New Zealand, Pakistan and the United States. The keynote speaker was the Right Honourable Harriet Harman QC MP, of the UK Labour Party, and the congress also heard from Professor Mary Beard. A panel chaired by author Martina Devlin discussed their vision for women in 2118.

Dublin Declaration

Dublin Declaration

The attendees at the Congress adopted the Dublin Declaration, a proposal for action on women in politics. The declaration includes a commitment to working across party and ideological lines in pursuit of gender equality.


Download the programme booklet of the International Congress of Parliamentary Women's Caucuses 2018.

Video - part 1

Women in leadership - Harriet Harman MP

In part 1 of the International Congress of Women's Parliamentary Caucuses, Harriet Harman addressed the congress on women in leadership.

View video

Video - part 2

Women in Society & Politics Today - Professor Mary Beard

In part 2, Professor Mary Beard gave her perspective on women in society and politics. Professor Mary McAuliffe then responded, followed by questions from the delegates.

View video

Video - part 3

Our Vision for Women in 2118 - panel discussion

Author Martina Devlin chaired a discussion with panellists Kareen Jabre, Orla O'Connor, Laura Friedman, Dr Jessie Kabwila and Stella Creasy. They discussed their vision for women in 2118.

View video

Video - part 4

Address by An Taoiseach Leo Varadkar

The opening address of the congress was given by An Taoiseach (the Prime Minister of Ireland) Leo Varadkar.

View video


Find out more about the speakers at the Congress.

Contact us

The congress is organised by the Irish Women's Parliamentary Caucus.

Christina Lynch
+353 (0)1 618 3507

Press Officer:
Nuala Walsh
(01) 618 3437
(086) 410 0898


Sunday, 9 September



Event opens
Dublin Castle


Welcome reception and pre-dinner drinks
The Portrait Gallery, Dublin Castle


Formal gala dinner
St. Patrick’s Hall, Dublin Castle
Guest of honour: President of Ireland, Michael D. Higgins
Introductions: Seán Ó Fearghaíl TD, Ceann Comhairle (Speaker of the House)




Monday, 10 September


Hibernia Conference Centre, Dublin Castle


Welcome and introduction
Catherine Martin TD
Chair of the Irish Women's Parliamentary Caucus


Introduced by Senator Ivana Bacik

Women in leadership

Keynote Speaker Harriet Harman QC MP

First respondent Catherine McGuinness

Questions and answers


Introduced by Catherine Martin TD

Opening address of Conference

By an Taoiseach, Leo Varadkar TD (Prime Minister of Ireland)


Tea/Coffee Break

Topic 1   Social media Jason Kiernan
Topic 2   Gender quotas Fiona Buckley
Topic 3   Herstory Melanie Lynch


Introduced by Marcella Corcoran Kennedy TD Deputy chair of the Irish Women's Parliamentary Caucus

Women in society and politics today

Speaker Professor Mary Beard
First respondent Professor Mary McAuliffe
Questions and answers


Family photo


Castle Hall, Dublin Castle State Apartments


Introduced by Fiona O'Loughlin TD

Our vision for women in 2118

Chair Martina Devlin


Orla O'Connor director of the National Women's Council of Ireland

Laura Friedman ASM California State assembly

Stella Creasy MP

Sinéad Burke writer, academic, broadcaster

Ms Kareen Jabre Inter-Parliamentary Union

The Hon. Dr Jessie Kabwila Malawi Parliament


Break-out sessions

Gender sensitive parliaments tool La Touche Room

Barbara Limanowska, European Institute for Gender Equality (EIGE)

Deliberative democracy as a process Chesterfield Room

The Hon. Mary Laffoy

Impact of caucuses worldwide Presidents's Room

Ms Kareen Jabre, Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU)


Introduced by Catherine Martin TD

Session one: Dublin Castle Declaration, Women in Politics 2018
Proposals for action and agreement by Members of the Congress
Presented by Claire McGing academic Maynooth University

Introduced by Senator Colette Kelleher
Session two: Contributions and reflections from the floor


Closing remarks: Chair, Irish Parliamentary Caucus Catherine Martin TD

and Irish Caucus Members