National Bravery Awards medals

Ceann Comhairle Seán Ó Fearghaíl TD has presented National Bravery Awards to 21 individuals who risked their own lives to aid others in peril. The presentation took place at Farmleigh House in the Phoenix Park, Dublin.

The annual honours are awarded by Comhairle na Mire Gaile – the Deeds of Bravery Council – which was founded in 1947 to enable State recognition of exceptional acts of courage. The Council is chaired by the Ceann Comhairle and includes the Cathaoirleach of Seanad Éireann, the Lord Mayors of Dublin and Cork, the Garda Commissioner, the President of the Association of City & County Councils and the Chairman of the Irish Red Cross.

“The presentation of the National Bravery Awards is an opportunity to celebrate the courage of ordinary people who risk their own safety to protect their fellow citizens,” the Ceann Comhairle said. “In a world often dominated by bad news, it is important to recognise the sacrifices made by good people, whose selflessness can serve to remind us of our duty of care to one another. It is an honour to present awards to 21 deserving recipients and I thank them for their courage.”

Download the National Bravery Awards 2018 commemorative booklet