21 Nov 2011, 14.23

The Committee on Environment, Transport, Culture and the Gaeltacht will continue its investigation into the supply, storage, provision, disposal and cost of water when it will meet with representatives from the Consumer Association of Ireland, IBEC and Chambers Ireland tomorrow, Tuesday, 22nd November.

Among the key issues which will be addressed at tomorrow’s meeting are:

• providing an efficient infrastructure;
• administration and administration costs;
• alternative sources.

Committee Chairman Ciarán Lynch, TD said: “The Committee will continue its consultation process this week with key stakeholders in the water sector. Our meeting tomorrow will provide representatives from the Consumer Association of Ireland, IBEC and Chambers Ireland with an opportunity to outline their views on water infrastructure, supply, storage and disposal in Ireland.

The Committee has identified water supply as a priority and major concern and members will have a chance to raise any issues they may have on the matter. It is clear that there are limits and high costs involved in the provision of treated water to our growing population and that nationwide we have experienced disruption to water supplies for a variety of reasons.

Our meeting tomorrow is that latest in series of engagements with interested parties and stakeholders which are designed to give members of the Joint Committee an overview and also a thorough understanding of the major issues in the water sector. Having considered the evidence put before us, the committee will publish is own report and put forward proposals to the Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government.”

This meeting will take place on Tuesday, 22nd November in Committee Room 4, Leinster House 2000 at 2.15pm.

Committee proceedings can be followed live at:

On Wednesday, 23rd November, Professor William Reville, Chairman Designate, National Radiological Protection Institute of Ireland, will address the Committee.

“This meeting will provide us with an opportunity to question Professor Reville on his vision and priorities for the institute,” said Deputy Lynch.

This meeting will take place at 10.30am Committee Room 4, Leinster House.

For further information please contact:

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2

P: +3531 618 3903
M: 086-0496518
F: +3531 618 4551

Committee Membership


Ciarán Lynch, Labour Party (Chairman)
Noel Coonan, Fine Gael (Vice-Chairman)
James Bannon, Fine Gael
Paudie Coffey, Fine Gael
Terence Flanagan, Fine Gael
Marcella Corcoran Kennedy, Fine Gael
Tony McLoughlin, Fine Gael
Patrick O’Donovan, Fine Gael
Brian Walsh, Fine Gael
Kevin Humphreys, Labour Party
Gerald Nash, Labour Party
Seán Kenny, Labour Party
Robert Troy, Fianna Fáil
Timmy Dooley, Fianna Fáil
Niall Collins, Fianna Fáil
Sandra McLellan, Sinn Féin
Dessie Ellis, Sinn Féin
Brian Stanley, Sinn Féin
Clare Daly, Socialist Party
Catherine Murphy, Independent
Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan, Independent
Cáit Keane, Fine Gael
Catherine Noone, Fine Gael
Labhrás Ó’Murchú, Fianna Fáil
Ned O’Sullivan, Fianna Fáil
Eamonn Coghlan, Independent

Notes to the editor:

Witness List


1. Mr Brendan Butler, Director of Policy and International Affairs

2. Mr Neil Walker, Head of Energy and Environment Policy

3. Mr Conor Gouldsbury, Policy Executive

Consumers Association of Ireland
      1.  Mr Dermot Jewell, CEO

2. Ms Aisling Murtagh, Food and Health Researcher 
Chambers Ireland

1.   Mr Sean Murphy, Deputy Chief Executive

2.   Ms Hilary Haydon, Chair of Chambers Ireland Local Government and Ratepayers Council.


Public Gallery:

Mr. Steve Aiken, Chief Executive of the British Irish Chamber of Commerce

Ms Amy Woods, Chambers Ireland.