17 Jul 2013, 17.32

The Oireachtas Joint Committee on Transport and Communications meets tomorrow to consider the CIÉ Group's financial situation with Chairperson Vivienne Jupp as well as representatives from Dublin Bus, Bus Éireann and Iarnród Éireann.

17 July 2013

Córas Iompair Éireann provides a range of national, regional? and local and urban services through its Iarnród Éireann, Dublin Bus and Bus Éireann subsidiaries. CIÉ is responsible for the overall strategy of the group.

Oireachtas Committee Vice-Chairman John O'Mahony TD says: “Our Committee has an important oversight role in relation to state companies and tomorrow's meeting will provide an opportunity to question the CIÉ Group Chairperson and representatives of its operating companies on the current financial situation. In July of last year the Government decided to provide additional funding of €36m to ensure that the companies could continue to operate for the rest of 2012. This additional funding brought to €278m the total subvention paid to the CIÉ companies in 2012. With on-going pressures on the Exchequer, Committee Members will be keen to explore the financial sustainability of the CIÉ companies at tomorrow's meeting. The Committee will also wish to engage with CIÉ management on recent reports suggesting that Minister Varadkar plans to privatise 10 per cent of bus routes operated by Dublin Bus and Bus Éireann.\"

The meeting takes place tomorrow 18 July at 2:30 pm in Committee Room 3, Leinster House 2000. Committee proceedings can be followed live here.

Media enquiries to:
Paul Hand,
Communications Unit,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2
P: +3531 618 4484
M: +353 87 694 9926

Oireachtas Committee Membership

Michael Colreavy, Sinn Féin
Timmy Dooley, Fianna Fáil
Dessie Ellis, Sinn Féin
Terence Flanagan, Fine Gael
Tom Fleming, Independent
Noel Harrington, Fine Gael
Seán Kenny, Labour
Eamonn Moloney, Labour
Michael Moynihan, Fianna Fáil
Patrick O’Donovan, Fine Gael
John O’Mahony, Fine Gael (Vice-Chairman)
Ann Phelan, Labour
Brian Walsh, Fine Gael

Terry Brennan
Sean D. Barrett
Eamonn Coghlan
Paschal Mooney
Ned O’Sullivan
John Whelan