7 Feb 2017, 10.25

The Joint Committee on Transport, Tourism and Sport will meet tomorrow to consider the Road Safety Strategy. The Committee will hear from the Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport, Shane Ross TD, before meeting with Ms. Moyagh Murdock, Chief Executive Officer of the Road Safety Authority (RSA), Mr. Michael Rowland, Director of Road Safety Research and Driver Education at the RSA and Mr. Liam Duggan, Vehicle Testing and Enforcement Manager at the RSA.

07 February 2017

Session A, with Minister Shane Ross, will commence at 9.00am in Committee Room 4 tomorrow, Wednesday, 8 February 2017.

Session B, with representatives of the Road Safety Authority, will follow at 11:15am.

Committee Chairman, Brendan Griffin TD, said “2016 was a particularly bad year for road safety with 187 people losing their lives on Irish roads. This represents a 15% increase on the 2015 figures and raises serious questions about why this figure has increased so dramatically and what can be done to ensure a downward shift in statistics for 2017. Behind these statistics lie families who have lost loved ones in tragic circumstance and we have a duty, as a Committee, to bring our concerns to Minister Ross and the representatives of the RSA to discuss what is being done to reduce these figures.”

The meeting will be broadcast live on Oireachtas TV; Saorview Channel 22; Virgin Media Channel 207; Sky Channel 574; eir Vision Channel 504 and Vodafone Channel 201 and online here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.


Media enquiries

Liam O'Brien
Houses of the Oireachtas
Communications Unit
Leinster House
Dublin 2
+353 1 618 4484
+353 86 189 5098

Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee membership


Anti-Austerity Alliance - People Before Profit

Sinn Féin

Social Democrats

Fine Gael

Fianna Fáil

Fianna Fáil


Fine Gael

Fine Gael

Fianna Fáil