3 Oct 2017, 14.11

The Oireachtas Committee on Transport, Tourism and Sport will focus on flight cancellations at Ryanair and the impact on customers at its meeting tomorrow, Wednesday, 4 October 2017.

The agenda for the meeting is:

(i) Reduction in Service Provision by Ryanair and impact on customers [Commissioner for Aviation Regulation]
(ii) Working hours of pilots and implications for pilot welfare [Representatives from Irish Air Line Pilots Assciation]

Committee Chair, Deputy O’Dowd said: “A wave of flight cancellations announced by Ryanair since the middle of September has caused huge disruption for the airline’s customers and the travelling public.

The Commission for Aviation Regulation is the enforcement body in Ireland for air passenger rights. This means that in the case of cancellation, the Commission’s role is to ensure that passengers receive their entitlements; including refunds, re-routing and care and assistance arising from the cancellation.

Tomorrow we will meet with the Commissioner for Aviation Regulation where we will have an opportunity to discuss Ryanair’s obligations and commitments and customers’ entitlements as a result of the current situation at Ryanair which has seen hundreds of flights cancelled and thousands of customers affected.

In the second part of our meeting tomorrow, we will hear from representatives from the Irish Air Line Pilots Association the professional association and registered trade union established to represent the interests of Irish pilots to discuss working hours for pilots and the implications for pilot welfare.”

The Committee will meet at 1.30pm, tomorrow, Wednesday, 4 October 2017 in Committee Room 2, Leinster House. Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.

Media Enquiries:

Ciaran Brennan,
Communications Unit,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2,
D02 XR20,

P: +353 1 6183903
M: +353 86 0496518
Email: Ciaran.brennan@oireachtas.ie
Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee Membership:

Chairman: Fergus O'Dowd (Fine Gael)


Mick Barry (AAA-PBP)
Peter Fitzpatrick (Fine Gael)
Imelda Munster (Sinn Féin)
Catherine Murphy (SD/GPTG)
Kevin O'Keeffe (Fianna Fáil)
Robert Troy (Fianna Fáil)


Frank Feighan (Fine Gael)
Pádraig Ó Céidigh (Independent)
John O’Mahony (Fine Gael)
Ned O’Sullivan (Fianna Fáil)

Media Enquiries

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2
+353 1 618 3903
+353 86 0496518
Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee membership


Anti-Austerity Alliance - People Before Profit

Sinn Féin

Social Democrats

Fine Gael

Fianna Fáil

Fianna Fáil


Fine Gael

Fine Gael

Fianna Fáil