30 Jan 2018, 14.09

The Ceann Comhairle, Seán Ó Fearghaíl, along with Senator Ivana Bacik, Chair of the Political Steering Group for Vótáil100, today formally launched the Houses of the Oireachtas programme of events to mark 100 years of suffrage.

Speaking at today’s launch, the Ceann Comhairle said, “I am delighted to unveil the Houses of the Oireachtas’ programme of events for 2018 to mark this seminal anniversary of 100 years of women’s suffrage.”

“Our Vótáil100 programme will honour the role of women in the suffrage movement, as well as focusing on the wider issue of women’s participation in politics. We will celebrate the many remarkable women who fought for suffrage, as well as the contribution by Constance Markievicz, the first woman elected to the British Parliament at Westminster, but who never took her seat. She was also the first female TD and cabinet minister to serve in the Dáil.”

“Women have played a vital role in the formation of the Irish State and for too long their contribution has been unfairly overshadowed by those of their male counterparts. The relative invisibility of women in our history books only illustrates how they were excluded from fundamental aspects of political and social life and their important contributions ignored. It is incumbent upon all of us to encourage and foster greater acknowledgement of the role women have played and continue to play in Irish political life.”

Chair of  the Political Steering Group, Senator Ivana Bacik, added, “I am delighted to be chairing the committee organising our Oireachtas Vótáil100 Programme of events to mark the centenary of women's suffrage.  Over the course of 2018, we will commemorate this important centenary with an exciting programme of cultural, historical and educational events marking the work of the suffrage movement in Ireland going back to the early 19th century. We hope this programme will not only encourage more women to become politically involved, but will also remind us all about the importance of the right to vote.” 

Further information on the Vótáil100 commemorations is available here: https://beta.oireachtas.ie/en/visit-and-learn/votail-100/

Political Steering Group for Vótáil100:

Chairperson: Senator Ivana Bacik (Labour)

Rose Conway Walsh TD (Sinn Féin)

Senator Alice Mary Higgins (Independent)

Catherine Martin TD (Green)

Senator Gabrielle McFadden (Fine Gael)

Fiona O’Loughlin TD (Fianna Fáil)

Media enquiries

Nuala Walsh,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2
+353 1 618 3437
+353 86 4100 898
Twitter: @OireachtasNews