9 Jul 2018, 16.12

The Government’s Action Plan 2018-2022 for the Irish language will be on the agenda of the Joint Committee on the Irish Language, the Gaeltacht and the Islands at its meeting on Tuesday, 10 July 2018.

Joe McHugh, Government Chief Whip and Minister of State at the Department of Defence with special responsibility for Gaeilge, Gaeltacht and the Islands, will attend the meeting.

Committee Chair Catherine Connolly said: “The Action Plan 2018-2022 outlines over 180 specific measures that will be implemented in conjunction with approximately 60 stakeholders on a cross-Departmental basis in support of the Irish language and the Gaeltacht from now until 2022 and is designed to build on the 20 year strategy for the language.

Our meeting will be our first engagement with the Minister on the plan. We will have an opportunity to examine the plan in greater detail and discuss with the Minister how he sees the plan meet the challenge of developing and promoting the Irish language and ensuring that it remains a vibrant living language both inside and outside the Gaeltacht.”

This meeting will take place at 5.30pm on Tuesday, 10 July 2018 in Committee Room 4, Leinster House. Committee proceedings can be viewed live here.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.

Media enquiries

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2
+353 1 618 3903
+353 86 0496518
Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee membership



Fianna Fáil

Fine Gael

Solidarity - People Before Profit



Fine Gael