3 Apr 2019, 10.50

The Joint Committee on Foreign Affairs, Trade & Defence will meet tomorrow, Thursday, at 10am in Committee Room 1, Leinster House to discuss the on-going peace process in Colombia.

The EU Special Envoy for the Peace Process in Colombia, former Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade, Mr. Eamon Gilmore, will update the committee on the current position in the country.

Mr. Gilmore’s role since October 2015 was to accompany the concluding stages of the Peace Negotiations between the Government of Colombia, and FARC, and to further accompany the implementation of the Peace Agreement, on behalf of the European Union.

For three years, Mr Gilmore has added to his significant political and foreign policy experience, by travelling to Bogotá, assisted by his experience of the Northern Ireland peace process.

Chairperson of the Joint Committee on Foreign Affairs, Trade & Defence Deputy Brendan Smith, said: “A Peace Agreement was concluded in August 2016, to end the 52-year long FARC conflict, in which almost a quarter of a million people had been killed, 40,000 were still missing and 6 million people had been displaced from their homes.

Mr Smith added: “A lasting, sustainable peace process requires support from all sides especially from the international community and through the support of the EU including Ireland’s opening  of an Irish embassy in Bogota, for the first time, we continue to provide our support and expertise to ensure a lasting peace is maintained in Colombia. We look forward to hearing from Mr. Gilmore.”

Committee proceedings can be viewed live here: https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/oireachtas-tv/cr1-live/

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.

Media enquiries

Alan Neary
Houses of the Oireachtas
Communications Unit
Leinster House
Dublin 2
+353 1 618 4743
+353 86 010 7500

Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee membership


Fine Gael

Fianna Fáil

Sinn Féin


Fianna Fáil


Labour Party


Fianna Fáil