19 Feb 2020, 19.04

The following valid nominations have been received by the Clerk of Dáil Éireann, Mr. Peter Finnegan and are thus deemed to be candidates for the position of Ceann Comhairle.

The nominations are: 

  1. Denis Naughten – Roscommon-Galway
  2. Seán Ó Feargháil – Kildare South

The 33rd Dáil will convene at 12 noon tomorrow, Thursday, 20 February.

The Clerk of Dáil Éireann will first read out the Proclamation, received from President Michael D. Higgins, convening the 33rd Dáil, followed by the Report as to the issue of writs and then the names of the Members elected for each constituency, in the order in which they were elected.

The next item of business is the election of Ceann Comhairle.

The Ceann Comhairle will be selected by secret ballot and the person selected will then be formally elected by an open vote in the Dáil.

Media enquiries

Alan Neary
Houses of the Oireachtas
Communications Unit
Leinster House
Dublin 2
+353 1 618 4743
+353 86 010 7500

Twitter: @OireachtasNews