8 Dec 2020, 19.38

The Committee on European Union Affairs will meet with members of the House of Commons Committee on the Future Relationship with the European Union at a meeting in Leinster House, tomorrow, Wednesday, 9th December at 9am.

The UK Members of Parliament (MPs) will join the EU Affairs Committee remotely, via video link, in Committee Room 3.

Rt. Hon. Hilary Benn MP, Sally-Ann Hart MP, Nigel Mills MP; Stephen Kinnock MP and Dr Philippa Whitford MP, who are members of the Committee on the Future Relationship with the European Union, are scheduled to join the meeting.

EU Affairs Committee Chairman, Joe McHugh TD said: “The purpose of the meeting is to engage with members on Brexit, the latest commitments in connection to the Internal Market Bill, and inter-parliamentary relations post-Brexit.

“Safeguards for Northern Irish businesses to continue trading with the Republic and opportunities for post-Brexit inter-parliamentary dialogue are other areas the EU Affairs Committee want to discuss.”

The meeting is the latest in a series held by the Joint EU Affairs Committee examining Brexit, the Internal Market Bill and inter-parliamentary relations post-Brexit. Members previously met with a delegation from the House of Lords European Union Select Committee and members of the Northern Ireland Assembly as part of this work programme.

Committee Chair Deputy McHugh,as part of the Conference of European Community Affairs Committees (COSAC), has also engaged with EU's chief Brexit negotiator Michel Barnier on these issues.

Deputy McHugh said: “The Committee intends to continue its work on exploring inter-parliamentary relations post-Brexit when the transition period comes to an end.”

View the Committee live.

Media enquiries

Petrina Vousden
Houses of the Oireachtas
Communications Unit
Leinster House
Dublin 2
+353 1 618 3437
+353 85 8745 295

Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee membership


Sinn Féin

Fianna Fáil


Fianna Fáil

Labour Party

Joe McHugh - Chair

Fine Gael


Fianna Fáil

Fine Gael


Green Party