28 Jun 2021, 16.00

The Joint Committee on Housing, Local Government and Heritage will meet tomorrow, Tuesday, 29 June, to resume Pre-Legislative Scrutiny of the General Scheme of Local Government (Directly Elected Mayor with Executive Functions in Limerick City & County) Bill 2021.

The Committee will meet remotely at 12.30pm in Committee Room 3 of Leinster House to discuss the Heads of the Bill with:

·       Professor Deiric Ó Broin and Dr Eoin O’Malley, from the School of Law and Government at Dublin City University;

·       Dee Ryan, of the Limerick Chamber of Commerce; and

·       John A Moran of LiveableLimerick, a civil society group involved in the campaign for directly elected mayor.

Speaking ahead of the meeting, Committee Cathaoirleach Deputy Steven Matthews said: “The Committee has previously heard from Minister of State Peter Burke on the General Scheme of this Bill, which proposes the establishment and election of a directly elected mayor with executive functions in Limerick and the holding of plebiscites on directly elected mayors in other local authority areas. The Committee now looks forward to hearing the views of Professor Ó Broin, Dr O’Malley, Ms Ryan and Mr Moran on this important legislation for local democracy in Ireland.”

The Joint Committee on Housing, Local Government and Heritage has 14 Members, nine from the Dáil and five from the Seanad.

The meeting in Committee Room 3 can be viewed live on Oireachtas TV.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.

Media enquiries

Robert Kennedy-Cochrane
Houses of the Oireachtas
Communications Unit
Leinster House
Dublin 2
+353 1 618 4149
+353 85 8707436


Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee membership


Fianna Fáil

Sinn Féin

Fine Gael

Green Party

Fianna Fáil

Sinn Féin

Social Democrats



Fine Gael

Fianna Fáil

Labour Party