12 Jul 2021, 17.15

The Joint Committee on Transport and Communications will meet twice this week to discuss Ireland’s Implementation of the EU Digital Covid Certificate (DCC) in all its aspects.

On Tuesday, 13 July, the Committee will meet at 9.30am in Committee Room 2 of Leinster House with officials from across Government. The meeting will hear from:

·       Liz Canavan, Assistant Secretary General, Department of the Taoiseach; 

·       Muiris O’Connor, Assistant Secretary, Department of Health;

·       Maeve Brett, Principal Officer, Department of Justice;

·       Phil O’Flaherty, Principal Officer, Department of Transport;

·       Damien McCallion, HSE National Director and COVID Vaccination Programme Lead, Health Service Executive; and

·       Barry Lowry, Government Chief Information Officer, Department of Public Expenditure and Reform.

On Wednesday, 14 July, the Committee will meet at 12.30pm in the same venue for discussions on the DCC with Ossian Smyth TD, Minister of State at the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform.

Committee Cathaoirleach Deputy Kieran O’Donnell said: “The introduction of the EU Digital Covid Certificate in Ireland from July 19 will be a key moment in restarting our aviation and tourism sectors which have suffered so much under the restrictions due to the pandemic.

“The Committee looks forward to hearing from Minister Smyth and officials from across Government Departments on how the Digital Covid Certificate will work in Ireland and interact with our EU Partners as well as other worldwide countries.

“Furthermore, the Committee will wish to explore all aspects and applications of the DCC, including how it may also operate as a ‘Covid Pass’ to allow for the resumption of indoor dining in our pubs, restaurants and cafes. Clearly, the successful reopening of the hospitality sector will go hand in hand with travel into and around the country for domestic patrons and international visitors.”

The Joint Committee on Transport and Communications has 14 Members, nine from the Dáil and five from the Seanad.

The meeting in Committee Room 2 can be viewed live on Oireachtas.ie.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.

Media enquiries

Robert Kennedy-Cochrane
Houses of the Oireachtas
Communications Unit
Leinster House
Dublin 2
+353 1 618 4149
+353 85 8707436


Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee membership


Fine Gael

Fianna Fáil


Green Party

Fianna Fáil

Fine Gael

Labour Party


Sinn Féin

Fianna Fáil

Fianna Fáil