22 Sep 2021, 19.45

The Joint Committee on Key Issues affecting the Traveller Community will resume its discussion on access to housing and accommodation, including culturally appropriate accommodation at tomorrow’s meeting, 12:30 pm, Thursday 23 September 2021.

The meeting at 12:30 pm will be broadcast from Committee Room 4 of Leinster House.

Representatives will include:

  • Officials from Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage, Paul Benson, Principal Officer for Housing Grants, Local Authority Stock Improvement & Traveller Accommodation; and Mr Eamonn Waters, Principal Officer for Homelessness
  • Representatives from County and City Management Association (CCMA), Frank Curran, Chief Executive of Wicklow County Council and Chair of the CCMA Housing Building and Land Use Committee; and Colm Ward, Director of Service, Housing, South Dublin County Council

Leas-Chathaoirleach of the Committee Deputy Éamon Ó Cuív said: “The Committee and I look forward to revisiting our discussion on the issues of Traveller Housing and Accommodation. We continue our discussion on one of the basic human needs and as discussed at our previous meetings, a basic human right.”

The Leas-Chathaoirleach added: “Housing and accommodation, especially culturally appropriate, and Traveller specific accommodation is an extremely important topic and is one of the key issues affecting the Traveller Community the Committee prioritised. Availability and access to housing and accommodation; facilities and services within culturally appropriate accommodation; and high levels of homelessness within the Traveller Community are topics we discussed before the recess and they are topics we hope to continue to explore.

The Committee looks forward to continuing this important debate as we head into the Autumn term with our guests, continuing the debate on this topic and the wider discussion around the issues.”

The Joint Committee on Key issues affecting the Traveller Community has 14 Members, nine from the Dáil and five from the Seanad.

You can view the meeting in Committee Room 4 on the Oireachtas website.

More information can be found on the dedicated Committee Webpage. Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.

Media enquiries

Jason Kiernan

Houses of the Oireachtas

Communications Unit

Leinster House

Dublin 2

+353 1 618 4486

+353 86 701 5235 



Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee membership


Fine Gael

Independents 4 Change

Green Party

Sinn Féin

Fianna Fáil

Fianna Fáil

People Before Profit-Solidarity

Fine Gael



Labour Party

Fine Gael

Green Party

Fianna Fáil