19 Oct 2021, 16.00

The Joint Committee on Transport and Communications will meet tomorrow, Wednesday, 20 October, at 1.30pm in Committee Room 2 of Leinster House with Basil Geoghegan, Chairperson Designate of DAA.

Speaking ahead of the meeting, Committee Cathaoirleach Deputy Kieran O’Donnell said: “Following our recent engagement with the Chair Designate of the Shannon Group, the Committee welcomes this opportunity to meet with Basil Geoghegan prior to his appointment as Chairperson of DAA to discuss his strategic priorities for the role and for Ireland’s other two main airports.

“We look forward to hearing his vision for DAA, especially how Dublin Airport and Cork Airport can rebuild their business following the pandemic. For Dublin this includes the route network into Britain, Europe, the Middle East and Asia, and as a strategic hub feeding transatlantic routes to the United States and Canada. Members are also interesting in hearing Mr Geoghegan’s plans for the development of Cork Airport and re-establishing and growing the route network to Britain, Europe and worldwide.”

The Joint Committee on Transport and Communications has 14 Members, nine from the Dáil and five from the Seanad.

The meeting in Committee Room 2 can be viewed live on Oireachtas.ie.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.

Media enquiries

Robert Kennedy-Cochrane
Houses of the Oireachtas
Communications Unit
Leinster House
Dublin 2
+353 1 618 4149
+353 85 8707436


Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee membership


Fine Gael

Fianna Fáil


Green Party

Fianna Fáil

Fine Gael

Labour Party


Sinn Féin

Fianna Fáil

Fianna Fáil