Skip to main content
Normal View

Social Protection Committee to discuss means assessments and policy issues for carers with representatives from Family Carers Ireland

17 May 2022, 14.20

The Joint Committee on Social Protection, Community and Rural Development and the Islands will meet tomorrow Wednesday May 18th to discuss policy issues and national means assessments for carers with representatives from Family Carers Ireland.

The meeting will take place in Committee Room 3 of Leinster House between 09:30-12:30. 

The following representatives are due to attend:

Catherine Cox, Head of Communications and Policy - Family Carers Ireland

Clare Duffy, Policy and Public Affairs - Family Carers Ireland

John Dunne, Chief Executive Officer - Family Carers Ireland

Anna Budayova, Family Carer – Family Carers Ireland

Niamh Ryan, Family Carer – Family Carers Ireland

Damien Douglas, Family Carer - Family Carers Ireland 

Speaking ahead of the meeting, Committee Cathaoirleach Deputy Denis Naughten TD said: “Ireland has more than 500,000 family carers in Ireland making up one in every three households, providing an essential service allowing older people and people with a disability to live in their own home and their own community."

"The allowance was first introduced in 1990 and has been a valuable support to family carers throughout the Country. While the pandemic has been incredibly difficult for family carers, it has shown us how vital their care is in order to protect our most vulnerable citizens. But the pandemic has also demonstrated the speed at which our social protection system can be transformed.”

“We look forward to discussing potential changes to the Carers Allowance and changes to the means assessment system amid rising costs and inflation.” 

“In particular, we welcome the opportunity to hear directly from three family carers to hear about their views on the future of the carers’ allowance.” 

Watch the meeting live here or on the Oireachtas smartphone app for Apple and Android. 

Media enquiries

Áine McMahon

Houses of the Oireachtas

Communications Unit

Leinster House

Dublin 2

+353 1 618 4149

Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee membership


Fianna Fáil

Fine Gael

Independents 4 Change

Sinn Féin

Sinn Féin


Fianna Fáil


Fine Gael

Green Party

Sinn Féin

Fianna Fáil

Labour Party