Léim ar aghaidh chuig an bpríomhábhar

Dáil Éireann díospóireacht -
Thursday, 16 Nov 1961

Vol. 192 No. 3

Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries: Announcement by Taoiseach.

I beg leave to state, for the information of the Dáil,

(1) that, having informed the President of the fact that Dáil Éireann approved my nomination of Deputies to be members of the Government, the President, on the 12th October, 1961, appointed them accordingly;

(2) that, on the same date, I nominated Seán MacEntee to be the Tánaiste;

(3) that, on the same date, I assigned the Departments of State to the members of the Government as follows:—

The Department of Health—Seán MacEntee,

The Department of Finance— James Ryan,

The Department of External Affairs—Frank Aiken,

The Department of Agriculture— Patrick Smith,

The Department of Transport and Power—Erskine H. Childers,

The Department of Industry and Commerce—John Lynch,

The Department of Local Government—Neil T. Blaney,

The Department of Social Welfare —Kevin Boland,

The Department of Lands and the Department of the Gaeltacht —Michael Moran,

The Department of Posts and Telegraphs—Michael Hilliard,

The Department of Education— Patrick J. Hillery,

The Department of Defence— Gerald Bartley and

The Department of Justice— Charles Haughey; and

(4) that, on the same date, the Government appointed the following Deputies to be Parliamentary Secretaries as follows:—

Joseph Brennan—Parliamentary Secretary to the Taoiseach and to the Minister for Defence,

Donogh Brendan O'Malley— Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Finance, and

Brian Joseph Lenihan—Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Lands.

Would the Taoiseach please explain to the House why he did not comply with the Constitution in respect of that notice? The Constitution requires that it should be communicated to the Dáil as soon as possible. It should have been communicated yesterday.

If the Deputy wants to know the truth, I forgot it.

Fair enough.