Léim ar aghaidh chuig an bpríomhábhar

Dáil Éireann díospóireacht -
Thursday, 13 Apr 1978

Vol. 305 No. 5

Ceisteanna—Questions. Oral Answers. - Park Development.


(Cavan-Monaghan) asked the Minister for Fisheries if he will give particulars of any national parks, forest parks or other parks which are the responsibility of his Department.

In the context of my Department's open forest policy, under which some 300 developed sites for public recreation have been provided, the following areas have been designated as forest parks:

Ards (County Donegal), Lough Key (County Roscommon), Killykeen and Dun a' Ri (County Cavan), Rossmore (County Monaghan), Avondale (County Wicklow), Portumna (County Galway) and Guagán Barra (County Cork).

Additionally my Department, in association with the Department of Agriculture, is responsible for the John F. Kennedy Park (County Wexford) which comprises an arboretum, forest plots and recreational facilities.

Two further open forest areas are at present in course of development to forest park standards. These are at Currahchase (County Limerick) and Doneraile (County Cork).