Léim ar aghaidh chuig an bpríomhábhar

Dáil Éireann díospóireacht -
Wednesday, 27 Nov 1996

Vol. 472 No. 2

Written Answers. - Ministerial Appointments.

Seamus Kirk


75 Mr. Kirk asked the Minister for Social Welfare the number of State agencies under the aegis of his Department to which he has appointed members since his appointment as Minister; the names of the members appointed; and the number of women appointed to such boards. [22278/96]

Since my appointment as Minister, I have appointed members to each of the three State agencies coming under the aegis of my Department, namely, the Combat Poverty Agency, the Pensions Board and the National Social Service Board, as follows:

Combat Poverty Agency

Ms Deirdre Carroll was appointed in January 1995 and Ms Anna Lee became a member of the board and chairperson with effect from 21 June 1995. The following persons were appointed on 3 July 1996: Ms Fionnula Richardstown, Mr. Pat Ridge, Ms Berni Brady, Mr. Eoin O'Malley, Ms Michelle Power, Mr. Niall Fitzduff, Mr. Hugh Frazer and Mr. Fergus McCabe. I have appointed five women to the Combat Poverty Agency since I became Minister.

Pensions Board

The following persons were appointed on 21 December 1995, for a five year period, to replace the first board whose term of office ended on 20 December 1995: Mr. Eamonn Heffernan (Chairperson), Mr. Jim Kehoe, Ms Raymonde Kelly, Ms Anne Maher, Mr. Ciaran Long, Mr. Donal McAleese, Mr. Stephen McCarthy, Mr. Robert Woods, Ms Deirdre Carroll, Mr. Joe Mooney, Ms Kay Brophy, Ms Rosheen Callender and Ms Veronica McDermott.
Mr. Alan Broxson was appointed on 5 July 1996 as a replacement for Ms Anne Maher who resigned from the board on 30 June 1996 to take up the post of chief executive of the Pensions Board. Ms Caroline Jenkinson and Ms Maria Kinlan were also appointed on 5 July 1996. I have appointed eight women to the Pensions Board since becoming Minister, including Ms Anne Maher who has since resigned to become chief executive of the board.
National Social Service Board
Mr. Donal De Buitléir, chairperson, was appointed by me on 13 June 1995 and the following persons were appointed to the board for a three year period with effect from 1 September 1995: Ms Paula Clancy, Mr. Mel Cousins, Ms Joan Duffy, Mr. Denis Foley, Ms Geralyn McGarry, Mr. Michael McLoone, Ms Rosarie Moylan, Mr. Tom Mulherin, Ms Mary Murphy, Mr. Martin Naughton, Ms Mary O'Connell, Mr. Padraig Rehill, Ms Monica Weir and Ms Kate Kelly.
Eight women have been appointed by me to the National Social Service Board since I became Minister.