Topical Issue Matters

I wish to advise the House of the following matters in respect of which notice has been given under Standing Order 27A and the name of the Member in each case: (1) Deputy Peadar Tóibín - the need to provide better funding to the ambulance service in the north east; (2) Deputy Robert Dowds - the need for national or EU recognition for all qualifications related to the motor industry; (3) Deputies Dara Calleary, Thomas Pringle and Seán Kyne - the proposed withdrawal of community welfare offices in rural areas; (4) Deputy Michelle Mulherin - the need to increase the financial contribution from the State for the construction and upgrading of group water schemes in rural disadvantaged areas covered by the CLÁR programme; (5) Deputy Denis Naughten - the need to replace child benefit with a school attendance payment; (6) Deputy Aengus Ó Snodaigh - the need to address issues and concerns raised by the proposed realignment of local government; (7) Deputy Kevin Humphreys - the need to make Flexiseq gel, a treatment for osteoarthritis, available to those on the medical card scheme; (8) Deputy Clare Daly - to discuss the delay in the implementation of the pyrite levy legislation; (9) Deputy Willie O'Dea - the need for the Government to intervene in the industrial dispute at Wallis in Limerick city; (10) Deputy Billy Kelleher - the need for the Minister for Health to make a statement on the renewed prospect of industrial action by non-consultant hospital doctors; (11) Deputy Richard Boyd Barrett - the need to reopen the education fund for survivors of the Magdalen laundries; (12) Deputies Joe Higgins and Pádraig Mac Lochlainn - the findings of the Comptroller and Auditor General's report on the cancellation of penalty points; and (13) Deputy Michael McCarthy - the need to designate Crohn's disease as a long-term illness and relieve the financial burden on patients.

The matters raised by Deputies Joe Higgins and Pádraig Mac Lochlainn; Dara Calleary, Thomas Pringle and Seán Kyne; Robert Dowds; and Michael McCarthy have been selected for discussion.