Ábhair Shaincheisteanna Tráthúla - Topical Issue Matters

I wish to advise the House of the following matters in respect of which notice has been given under Standing Order 29A and the name of the Member in each case: (1) Deputies Michael Healy-Rae and Martin Ferris - to discuss the use of the DEXA scanner at University Hospital Kerry; (2) Deputies Sean Sherlock, Brendan Ryan and Margaret Murphy O'Mahony - to discuss cuts to the rehabilitative training payments for persons with disabilities; (3) Deputies Eugene Murphy and Willie O'Dea - the serious flooding issues at Coonagh on the Limerick-Clare border and the damage caused in this location; (4) Deputy Fergus O'Dowd - to ask the Minister if he will consider setting up a specialised building unit for persons who have sudden onset catastrophic life-changing injuries or illnesses and require housing adaptations as a matter of urgency, which would allow patients to be discharged at the earliest possible opportunity, free up much-needed beds and ensure that people in severe need would not have to wait on the county council lists for such home adaptations, and to outline his views on the matter; (5) Deputy Denis Naughten - the need for the Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine to update Dáil Éireann on the progress to date on the beef discussions; (6) Deputies David Cullinane and Mary Butler - to discuss the proposed changes to An Garda Síochána in the south east, the proposed amalgamation of the Waterford and Carlow-Kilkenny divisions, the Garda divisional changes for Waterford and the effects these changes will have; (7) Deputy Michael Moynihan - if the Minister for Rural and Community Development will discuss the recent allocation of CLÁR funding to County Cork; (8) Deputy Catherine Murphy - the lack of spaces available in respect of the school transport scheme and criteria and terms and conditions attached to same; (9) Deputy Shane Cassells - to discuss funding for respite services at Talbot House in Athboy, County Meath; (10) Deputy Dessie Ellis - to discuss the development of the site of the Ballymun shopping centre currently under demolition; (11) Deputies Niall Collins and John Brassil - the need for the Minister for Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht to issue a licence to the Irish Coursing Club to net hares and make a statement on the matter, and to ask the Minister if she will clearly explain the position regarding the suspension of the hare netting licences to the Irish Coursing Club and make a statement on the matter; (12) Deputy John Curran - families in Rathcoole who failed to secure a local primary school place for their children; (13) Deputy Fiona O'Loughlin - the need for further supports for respite and residential care in Kildare and nationwide; (14) Deputy John Brady - to discuss the publication of the Data Protection Commissioner’s report into the public services card; (15) Deputy Pat Buckley - to discuss the shortfall in funding for Cobh Community Hospital in east Cork and its possible closure if funding is not found; (16) Deputy Pat The Cope Gallagher - to discuss the current issues in providing a knackery service for dead carcasses in County Donegal; (17) Deputies Gino Kenny, Mick Barry and Paul Murphy - the impending court case on the Apple tax judgment; the appeal by the Apple corporation on the ruling regarding its tax liability; and Ireland’s appeal against the European Commission’s state aid ruling in relation to Apple; (18) Deputy Marcella Corcoran Kennedy - to discuss the impact of decarbonisation in County Offaly and the wider peat midlands region; (19) Deputy Kevin O'Keeffe - that a school bus be urgently provided for children from the catchment area of St. Joseph's Road, Mallow, who attend Gaelscoil Thomáis Dáibhís, Mallow, County Cork; (20) Deputy Catherine Connolly - the critical situation in Galway University Hospital given the lack of nursing staff; and (21) Deputy Bernard J. Durkan - to discuss Garda resources in north Kildare towns.

The matters raised by Deputies Michael Healy-Rae and Martin Ferris; Sean Sherlock, Brendan Ryan and Margaret Murphy O'Mahony; Shane Cassells; and Marcella Corcoran Kennedy have been selected for discussion.