National Lottery: Motion (Resumed)

The following motion was moved by Senator Marie-Louise O'Donnell on Wednesday, 23 May 2012:
That Seanad Éireann:
notes the decision of the Government to conduct a competitive process for award of a licence to operate the National Lottery over a 20 year period;
considers the National Lottery one of the most valued resources owned and funded by the Irish people; and
therefore calls on the Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform to make proposals to Government to reconsider this decision.
Debate resumed on amendment No. 1:
To delete all words after "Seanad Éireann" and substitute the following:
welcomes the decision of the Government to hold a competition for the next licence to operate the National Lottery for the period 2013-2033 in compliance with EU legal requirements;
recognises the major achievements to date of the National Lottery and the widespread support of the Irish public for the Lottery;
recognises the need for the State in the current economic situation to pursue opportunities to generate additional revenues that do not impact on taxpayers;
welcomes the fact that the terms of the next licence will continue to involve an ongoing payment to the State through the provision of a fixed percentage of 30.5% of annual National Lottery turnover for good causes; and
welcomes the fact that the new licence will also involve an upfront payment to the State, with some of the payment being used to help fund the building of the proposed new National Children's Hospital.
—(Senator Michael D'Arcy).
Question put: "That the motion, as amended, be agreed to."
The Seanad divided: Tá, 28; Níl, 21.

  • Bacik, Ivana.
  • Barrett, Sean D.
  • Bradford, Paul.
  • Brennan, Terry.
  • Burke, Colm.
  • Clune, Deirdre.
  • Coghlan, Eamonn.
  • Coghlan, Paul.
  • Comiskey, Michael.
  • Conway, Martin.
  • D’Arcy, Michael.
  • Gilroy, John.
  • Harte, Jimmy.
  • Hayden, Aideen.
  • Healy Eames, Fidelma.
  • Henry, Imelda.
  • Higgins, Lorraine.
  • Keane, Cáit.
  • Kelly, John.
  • Landy, Denis.
  • Moloney, Marie.
  • Moran, Mary.
  • Mulcahy, Tony.
  • Mullins, Michael.
  • Noone, Catherine.
  • O’Keeffe, Susan.
  • O’Neill, Pat.
  • Whelan, John.


  • Crown, John.
  • Daly, Mark.
  • Leyden, Terry.
  • Mac Conghail, Fiach.
  • MacSharry, Marc.
  • Mooney, Paschal.
  • Mullen, Rónán.
  • Norris, David.
  • Ó Clochartaigh, Trevor.
  • Ó Domhnaill, Brian.
  • O’Brien, Darragh.
  • O’Brien, Mary Ann.
  • O’Donnell, Marie-Louise.
  • O’Donovan, Denis.
  • O’Sullivan, Ned.
  • Reilly, Kathryn.
  • van Turnhout, Jillian.
  • Walsh, Jim.
  • White, Mary M.
  • Wilson, Diarmuid.
  • Zappone, Katherine.
Tellers: Tá, Senators Paul Coghlan and Susan O’Keeffe; Níl, Senators Ned O’Sullivan and Diarmuid Wilson.
Question declared carried.

When is it proposed to sit again?

At 10.30 a.m. tomorrow.